Film Synopsis

No Equal: The Trials of America’s Female Soldier is a documentary that provides a compelling and intricate portrait of the historic evolution and contemporary challenges facing women in the US military.

Through candid testimonials and archival news footage, No Equal examines the undermining role of congress, military motherhood and the hot-topic issue of women serving in front-line combat roles, to weave an intricate portrait of the female soldier. Still faced by gender inequality, the film aims to inspire social and political awareness around a group that goes largely overlooked.

Producer/Director Rusty Thompson

Rusty moved to Massachusetts in 1966 to begin what developed into a full and productive 30-year career with the airline industry.

She also earned a BA in Organizational Development (UMass) 1992 and an AS in Interior Design (Newbury College) 2007

She has been a community activist and fundraiser for several years and has been a member of Newton Cable TV since 2008 where she developed three experimental films integrating art, nature, music and poetry and edited with special effects.

In 2009 Rusty founded Rusty Thompson Productions, L.L.C. and works as an independent female producer/filmmaker.

In 2010 she filmed live the Natick, MA celebration of women from Natick who served in the military 1914-2010 and can be viewed in the Minute Man Library system.  The debut of her first documentary trailer “No Equal” is scheduled for June 21,2012 West Newton Cinema located West Newton, MA (Documentary about the challenges of American women in the military)

Her goal as a documentary filmmaker is to use the medium to create social and political awareness and to provoke critical thought on issues that have been largely overlooked.


Camera & Editors
Andrew Eldridge
Jesse Kreitzer

Consulting Editor
Peter Rhodes

Tyson Frantz

Transcriber & Research Assistant
Easton Smith

Military Historian
Cathal J Nolan, International History at Boston University


Dottie Barrie
Augie Chase
Hope Kirkendall
Helen Rusz
Rose Dewing Young
Marcia Zwecher

Korean Era
Jeanette Casey

Vietnam War
MSG E8 Edward Aucoin
Paul Bowler
CPT Robert Kapreilian
LTC Irwin Thompson
Mary Constance Walsh

Andrea Gayle-Bennett
LT Andre Bowser
Tania Carter
PFC Lisa Cordeiro
Catherine Corkery
Chrishinda Dobbs E6 YN1
MSG Michelle Dunfield
1LT Danielle Golden
Margaret Hoss
SGT Lisa Jones
Jacquelynn Palazola
Jamie Syms
Tamara Schwartz
Myissha Tompkins
CMS Kathleen Wood

Special Thanks

OPS Frank Neely, Public Affair Officer, USS Constitution
John Harlow, Chief of Public Affairs, USAG Natick
MS Andrew Biscoe, Public Affairs, Westover AFB
Marine Corps League Shutt Detachement
Paul Bowler, VP Operations, Marine Corps League Shutt Detachement, Watertown, MA

Comments are closed.